hey guys, i just started playing guitar a few weeks ago and can read tab pretty well, but a friend who just started with me is reading this book teaching him to read actual music..... is there any advantage of reading music over tab??? I've heard of soo many guitarists who never learned to read music but played by ear/tab??

has anyone here never learned to read music/any advantages?
i am learning from a classical book at present.

i know lots of guitarists have made it big without learning to sight read but its got to help! if you can turn up somewhere and play what is put in front of you without prior knowledge it has to be an advantage...

ultimately its your choice.
I suppose it would help for if you tried to play another instrument
Quote by Pinky19
My guitar is so ugly, it makes me wanna punch a baby.
If you ever want to do anything professionally in music, you need to be able to read music.

Even if you don't, I recommend you do. It helps you see things differently, enables you to play stuff that wasn't even written for guitar, enables you to communicate with musicians on other instruments, ...
He who joyfully marches to music in rank and file has already earned my contempt.
He has been given a large brain by mistake, since for him the spinal cord would fully suffice.

Remember: A prudent question is one half of wisdom.

Click.
I think actually knowing how notes and chords etc all correspond with each other can also benefit you're playing and your understanding of how the instrument works as well as all listed above, especially pro-musician
its really helpfull and a really good idea if you can be bothered with it, if you plan on becoming a session musician then you really do need to learn it
Member of the Jackson RR24 Owners club!

Esp Eclipse II Snow white
Fender American Standard Stratocaster
Ibanez RGA-8
Jackson RR24 Black w/yellow bevels, Limited 1/75
Yamaha FG-400A