I'm just learning to play guitar, currently borrowing an electric guitar and a small practice amp. I'm looking at what I would want to get when I decide to get my own gear.

I have pretty much decided that I'm going to get a agile les paul copy, but I'm not sure about the amp. I'm thinking either a Roland Cube of some level or a Epiphone Valve Junior.

However here is the kicker, I don't really need this amp to be super loud, actually if its always loud thats a bad thing, I have 8 month old twins and the only time I can really play is when they are sleeping, so will I can play at a normal volume there is no way I would be cranking an amp very often.

I'm a little confused about the EVJ does the volume knob actually make it quieter or does it just add more crunch to the sound. I was watching some YouTube videos and I couldn't really tell exactly. (Although I liked the idea of just a clean simple amp, that sounds good). Also can you run this amp though headphones and then crank it just for yourself?

So what do you think? Whats a good amp setup for my situation?
The VJ is made to be cranked, that's how you get distortion, but my VJ is loud enough for band practice, I've got it set on 9 o'clock now and that's a good bedroom volume.

If you wanna use a VJ, you'll need an OD pedal like the Bad Monkey. No headphone plugs. The Cube may be better for your situation and has a lot more versatility, but the Junior will sound heaps better.
The Laney Thread are big and clever. No exceptions.