hey i am new to guitar and i really want to learn. I just dont know what to do. Can someone tell me the basics to learn? like what are the first things i should learn, eg. chords, tabs,what songs, etc. I just have no idea where to start.

Should i learn chords? Or should i just learn to play the tabliture with the fret numbers on it?

I need help!
Its necessary to learn the chords but i got used to lead stuff at first.

try alot of white stripes stuff at first, because they are just the ultimate beginner band.
The UG Awards exist only to instill me with existential doubt.

For me, the 60's ended that day in 1978...

Willies. Fuck the lick and fuck you too.
start with getting a book or cd that will show you the basic chords try to find something that will give you some easy songs that comprise those chords so you can get used to changing fluidly between chords then you will want to learn the notes of the fret board once you have that it will make using tablature a lot easier.
Do not get discouraged if it does not all work the first time you try it takes a lot of practice to get good at.
Most tab sites will give you an option of Tab or Chord. For the easier songs try printing off both so you can see how the tab relates to the chord.
Enjoy....
YA GOTTA HIT IT ON THE ONE
pics of gear updated on profile 11/16/09
Start with the basics and then when you are used to them start looking at Flats and Minors and so on
YA GOTTA HIT IT ON THE ONE
pics of gear updated on profile 11/16/09
any good songs for a brand new guitarist??? and what are some finger exercizes?? i hear about them but dont know what they are.
^--Theres been heaps of threads on beginner songs and finger exercises. Search the forums and the lessons here on UG. If you cant find what youre looking for, post back.