Hey all. I am the not so pround owner of an Ibanez IJS20. I am only a novice player at best, but I do have a few gripes with this guitar. The tuners are awful and it never stays in tune, I would really like to replace these. Also, a guitarist friend of mine informed me that my pickups are awful, but that the guitar playes well and the body is well made. I know this is the ture bottom of the line for Ibanez, but was wondering would it be worth the effort and money to "hot-rod" this guitar? I have seen tuners like Grovers sell on E-bay for very good prices. I must say I am on a tight student budget and if I could make a decent guitar out of this and save myself having to buy another one that would be awesome. So if anyone can suggest good tuners and pickups for my guitar it would be much appreciated. I know very little about the electronics so I really don't have a clue on where to start with the pickups.

Also, I need a lot of help with my right hand technique, mainly where and how to rest my hand. I have been "anchoring" with my pinkie but was instructed that this was a bad habit that needs fixing while I am still learning. I see most guitar players rest their hand on the bridge somehow but I am having a lot of difficulty with this. I either mute the strings I am trying to play, or when I get down to the lower strings ( B and high e) my pick is almost vertical and doesn't make a sound.

I do have alternate picking down and am working on economy picking though, so that is good.

I apologise for the long post and stupid questions, but I really want to get this right. Thanks in advance for your help.
I would replace the tuners, it's a (relatively) cheap mod that can really improve the guitar. I wouldn't worry too much about the pickups, though, unless you really just hate them to death.

As for the technique, I'm not sure.

Also, the questions are really stupid, so no worries.