Page 1 of 2
Background: I've played for about 2 and a half years, and I'd say I'm not half bad. However, two of those years were sitting down.

Now, I play in a band, and I'm finding that anything I play standing up sounds like crap. I end up bending notes when playing power chords, not attacking the strings correctly with my pick, and getting hand cramps after half of a relatively simple power chord song.

Don't even ask me about playing any sort of early RHCP stuff, or other riff based songs. I can barely hold a barre chord without passing out, much less play a simple lick.

The thing is, I've been playing standing for almost six months now (I mean doing it all the time), and I still sound like some kid of three months trying to play Smoke on the Water.

Any advice? Should I post a video or something? Because I think there may be something fundamentally wrong with my technique...

Thanks in advance.
hmm.. when i started out i wore my guitar real high cause i couldnt play standing too.. and after i got better i started lowering my guitar slowly.. and soon i could play standing as well as i could sitting.. so maybe you should try that?
I tend to learn stuff whilst sat down, then attempt it/perfect it standing up. Usually works for me.
Higher your guitar up and start playing the songs slowly until it is virtually perfect

as you get more confident and ur playing is a lot better then start to lower the strap.
Why handicap yourself. Leave your strap as high as you feel comfortable with. Tom Morello has his guitar way high.
Thanks for the replies guys.

I've tried different heights, and I can play decently at best when I jack the thing up all the way, but it kind of limits my stage movement. I know that sounds stupid, but I want to learn to play lower, and as soon as I attempt it, it doesn't sound half as good.

I wonder if there's just something I'm doing wrong fundamentally.