I've got a cheap guitar (SX low end) and need an amp. I was thinking of a Roland Microcube because it's cheap and versatile, but I'm a huge fan of the tube amp tone, especially with a bad monkey or something similar.

So, with a dirt cheap guitar and no experience (I'm still learning) is a tube amp worth the extra few bucks and the few less features? I was looking at something like the Epiphone Valve Junior or the Valve Junior combo stack so I could upgrade the cab later.

Good idea bad idea?
yes Good idea. THen you dont have to upgrade your amp later unless you plan to do gigs very soon. I doubt it since it sounds like you just started.

I would get the stack over the combo. The head can be modded easier and you can change the cabs. but I would choose the Crate palomino v8 over both of those. Depends on what you play.
Good idea

Im also looking into getting a tube amp so I cant help you much lol. But it is a good idea, alot of people seem to like the valve juniors
Best idea that anyone with a poor quality guitar has ever presented to UG

The VJ stack will sound better due to the improved speaker quality and size, there'd be more bottom end, it'd be easier to customize.

Also look into the Crate Palominos (If you're in the US.) the Harley Benton GA5 Head/Combo (if your in the UK.)
Wait . . . for the Blackheart Engineering Little Giant! A Valve Junior clone with switchable 3-Watt/5-Watt output so you can wail at lower volumes. Due out in a month.
American HM Strat | LP Studio
Soldano Avenger w/DeYoung OT | Mark IV rackmount | DC-3 rackmount | Single-Recto

Finally a newby with good ideas!

Who woulda thought.

Knock youself out with the VJ! I'd probably get an OD for lower volume drive..

flickr you might
Quote by MrCarrot
Oranges are actually a revolution though - they're the next step from Rectos IMO.