well,here it is,i've played guitar for about 18 months now,and i'm now thinking about learning to play the bass aswell,i've got just under £200,what should i buy ?
My Gear

Epiphone G400 Custom (Tuned to Standard/Drop D)

Dean DFH Baby (Tuned to Drop C)

Epiphone Special II (Tuned to Drop B/Drop A)

Orange Crush 15

Boss MD-2

Ibanez PH-7
if you want to play bass, buy a bass, if you really think you dont want to play bass, dont buy anything and save up for something cool for guitar.
^ yeah,i am,i worded it a bit wrong,lol
My Gear

Orange Crush 15

Boss MD-2

Ibanez PH-7
Standard low end brands that get recommended in pretty much every similar thread are: Squier, Ibanez, Yamaha and Peavey. Try the basses that fit in your price range, and buy whichever you like most.
Founder of Jaco society

[22:08:23] <Confusius> I wish I was a bassist
[22:08:26] <Confusius> you fuckers look cool

Want to know how to play bass in jazz? Read this.
thanx for the advice,and yeah the £200 is probs just for the bass and then i'll get an amp for christmas
My Gear

Orange Crush 15

Boss MD-2

Ibanez PH-7
Quote by Brett08
thanx for the advice,and yeah the £200 is probs just for the bass and then i'll get an amp for christmas

I believe Squire Affinity comes into that range. Don't worry about the branding they can get. Play one you self and you can get a bargin. Check for all the usual things in a guitar, but on a bass (harmonic clarity, playability, tone etc) and if they are all fine, they can be great little basses. Of couse, quality control is not great, so don't order online to make sure you don't get one of the reeally bad ones.
Warwick freak of the Bass Militia. PM Nutter_101 to join

Quote by elliott FTW
Damn you and Warwickyness

Quote by ScottB
Quote by CLIFF_BURTON
gm jack knows everything
+1
if its just a bass and no amp try...

low end fenders
squiers
corts (great practicing basses)
ibanez
I'll lay waiting, just waiting for my time to come
Quote by gm jack