Page 1 of 2
I'm looking to upgrade to an amp that I can play at local venues thats at least 100 watts. I'm only 14 so I'm not going to buy an expensive tube amp. I'm looking at a marshall mg100hdfx head with a crate gs-412s cab for $300 used. I'm also looking at a fender fm212r or a crate Crate GT1200H/G412SL Half Stack. They are all around the same wattage but i'm looking more at the halfstacks because I don't want to be playing at a high school battle of the bands with a little combo when people are coming in with giant stacks. I really want to get the billie joe green day sound and it looks like the marshall is my best bet. What do you think? remember, i'm only 14. i'm not a proffesional with a lot of money to make guitar his living but i still love playing and would like to play a lot of shows during high school.

Also, where is the best place to buy used gear?
First of all... don't get ANY of the amps that you stated....Please?
300 bucks can buy you a used peavey classic 30 or a valveking which is loud enough for gigs. Well, about the other people walking in with stacks, they're probably marshall MG's, which are essentially big practice amps. Walking in with a little combo which sounds leaps and bounds better than their halfstacks is better than stooping down to their level and getting crummy amps with "high" wattage.
Call me Wes.
Gear:
Fender American Deluxe HSS Strat
Chicago Blues Box Roadhouse
Bad Cat Cougar 5
1957 Gibson GA-5
Ceriatone 18w TMB Combo
Hughes & Kettner Tube Factor
Various Ibanez TS9s
Weber MASS Attenuator
Last edited by darkarbiter7 at Nov 10, 2007,
You don't need a halfstack. No one ever really does.
Get a small valve amp (30-50 watts) and it should be loud enough to cope. In venues where it may be too quiet it will be properly mic'd up so you won't have to worry
ohai little sig.
Number one: Don't get a solid state for playing live. It'll sound junk when you have to crank it.