heya. i know how to form melodic minor scales, but i can never really see me using them in a bassline/part. unless i was doing some kindof bass solo. but is it really important to be fluent in the melodic minor scale, as a bass player?

thanks
i need to get a better signature.
Its best to know as many scales as you can.
The melodic minor isn't hugely important, but its still good to know.
For long you live and high you fly
But only if you ride the tide
And balanced on the biggest wave
You race toward an early grave.

Ben Hamelech
Melodic minor is a much more melodic thing. For making bass lines its not particularly important, but it gives you another place to go in terms of scales to add to the sounds you can get.
Founder of Jaco society

[22:08:23] <Confusius> I wish I was a bassist
[22:08:26] <Confusius> you fuckers look cool

Want to know how to play bass in jazz? Read this.
Quote by jazz_rock_feel
A more useful tool would be the jazz minor in my eyes. This is just the melodic minor up and down.

in what context would a jazz minor scale be used?
Quote by slap-a-bass
use melodic minor for classical music...so unless you're doing a bass solo in a classical piece dont suggest to use ti that much

I really hope you're joking
Quote by Bumper
Looks like you had a big bowl of Downs Syndrome for breakfast.

Member of the Bass Militia, PM Nutter_101 to join

Lover of Ashdown? Join the Ashdown Army!
Quote by slap-a-bass
use melodic minor for classical music...so unless you're doing a bass solo in a classical piece dont suggest to use ti that much

Classical music used and still usewd damn near every scale under the Sun. Major, minors, modes all those wacky scales from Eastern Europe, completely chromatic (see: serialism).

And melodic minor simply flows more easily than harmonic minor. Just play around with the scale and you can get some great runs up and down the scale.
Warwick freak of the Bass Militia. PM Nutter_101 to join

Quote by elliott FTW