I've been playing on and off for four years. Never really serious about playing before now. I can play a lot of punk perfectly, that's why I never bothered to advance. However, now I don't really have any desire to play or listen to punk music for that matter.

So the case with solos: I can memorize solos. But really, I can't play them naturally. Thus, it sounds robotic, I'd love to be able to improvise more/invent my own, and I can't even vary the solo I have learned that much without getting lost.

Should I learn and memorize scales first? If so, which?

Or should I just learn more solos until playing them is natural.

In general, I desire to become a more advanced guitar player. I can already do power and regular/minor chords very well, but that can only do so much. Thanks.

All suggestions are welcome.
for scales;
Major, minor, pentatonic, pentatonic minor
if you're playing metal;
Harmonic minor, Diminished, Locrian mode
My Band =]
We play some goffic pish
Its fun

Leave us a comment, we'll get back to you =]
i suggest start learning basic major and minor scales and start practice soloing over blues stuff. that'll make soloing come more naturally.
Minor blues serves me well, oh so very well.
songs: Left Behind choices
Quote by MadClownDisease
Well I can top you all, I've done my mum, my step brother AND a cat. As well as quite a few corpses.
sometimes even with all scales you get too tight and robotic still

try to play anything you want, add notes, dont be scared, theres noone criticizing your songs yet =P

just let loose, "learn the rules, then forget about them" =)
---
i got tired of my signature and i no longer has one

---
Learn some Jazz or flamenco stuff.

That will tottaly give you loads of extra skills

I did that , and boy my improvisation skills sure got boosted.
Last edited by Evil_Magician at Nov 10, 2007,
PM me, and we shall discuss it.
"The end result - the music - is all that counts"