Hi, I'm a newb and I'm wondering how you get those sort of 'evil sounding' solos you find in metal if you know what I mean. Eg. the fermented offal discharge solo http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=nKx5sJd7Ksk
I'm just curious so could someone explain? Would it be some kind of sweeping progression or something?
Harmonic minor scale
Phrygian scale
Minor scale
Diminished scale
Quote by csn00b
I hate seeing cute girls topless and what not, it just feels wrong.
minor scales, duh
SCALD
Quote by Phill-Rock
That, or being absolutely broke - though you always find money for cigarettes, then end up even more broke.

so true ^.

Quote by smb
I think it's a type of fish.

PM me for GP5
Necrophagist uses a ton of deminished, but that solo is very melodic. I heard it a long time ago and I still think it's one of the best solo's I've heard. After six years of playing guitar.
Right thanks I'll make sure to look into those scales. And yeah that solo has to be one of my favs too, it never gets old.
Diminished scales produce a good "evil" sound. Ive never actually used that scale, but ive heard it can be a bit hard to use it properly.
Been away, am back
the diminished scale and locrian mode both are used for evil sounding solos because both allow for an augmented fourth/diminished fifth which is called satan's interval because the two notes when sounded one after the other sound evil. slayer uses it a lot
Quote by trsc
Necrophagist uses a ton of deminished, but that solo is very melodic. I heard it a long time ago and I still think it's one of the best solo's I've heard. After six years of playing guitar.

if you find that solo to be melodic, you have a very gross sense of melody.
Quote by pfizer
Okay then, let's say I've got enough food to feed Yngwie Malmsteen for a day (about 6 months for regular people).
Quote by PurpleSpark73

It's VERY melodic. In a very classical way.

Sure not in a Beach Boys kind of way.
Quote by Tallman
It's VERY melodic. In a very classical way.