Im pretty new to finger picking.
I got sick of the sound of a pick when I started playing softer things and noticed that my favorite bass players didn't use picks.
How do you build up strength, speed, stamina, and dexterity in the index, middle, and ring finger (of playing fast triplets like Iron Maiden/Slayer songs).

oh by the way
sorry if this topic already exists haha
u searched but didnt find anything similar
It's like Superman reading the teachings of Jesus. The two greatest musicians on Earth hath combined forces. I officially quit music, as it has reached it's zenith with that cover.
Also you can try playing unplugged, will force you to get more sound out of the strings using you hand strength alone.

Or even use a heavy gauge of strings for a while, then when you go back down to a normal gauge you hands will be alot stronger and they will feel much easier to play.
"You can practice to attain knowledge, but you can't practice to attain wisdom." - Herbie Hancock
Quote by TGM
Also you can try playing unplugged, will force you to get more sound out of the strings using you hand strength alone.

Or even use a heavy gauge of strings for a while, then when you go back down to a normal gauge you hands will be alot stronger and they will feel much easier to play.

Volume =/= strength. When people say picking strength, they mean dexterity. The only way you'll get good dexterity is by practicing against a metronome.

EDIT: and playing too hard can have complications later on.
Last edited by Deliriumbassist at Nov 10, 2007,
Is there a good metronome to use online?
I know of the one on 8notes.com but i dont wanna get QuickTime
bad experience with Apple Software and i had to completely reinstall windows
It's like Superman reading the teachings of Jesus. The two greatest musicians on Earth hath combined forces. I officially quit music, as it has reached it's zenith with that cover.
thanks delirium thats perfect
all the others i found go by 4's (100 104 108 112 116)