Ok, so basically i've been playing for nearly two years on my trusty squier P bass, at which point i felt i got sufficiently good enough at pick and finger style playing and i kinda got bored, so i picked up a guitar and have been mostly playing my LP for the last 10 months or so.
Thankfully, I started listening to Primus, before diving head long into the realms of talented bass players and now i feel the urge to progress my slap technique quite a lot.
And, IMO a squier P bass isnt the best fit for this style of playing.

I would like Les Claypool's bass but for under £600

Any suggestions of a good bass to fit this style of playing, any help appreciated.
Ibanez BTB200, they have a great low rumble and wickedly controllable high end too.

They are better for songs like... My Name is Mud, Lacquer Head, or Tommy the Cat.

For songs like Jerry was a racecar Driver, you would be better off lookin at something with more strings and less rumble.
Quote by Fast_Bear
someone sig that typo!

no

Quote by MetalUpTheAss
My amp is so loud, it has no number system.

It's only rated in decibels of loud and louder.
To be honest, I use my Squire P-Bass and it works wonderfully... do you still have the stock strings on there? Because I have changed mine, and your strings may be the problem... also, if you were to buy this you can make it sounds just like Claypool! I just ordered it after giving it a test drive, and it's worth getting... you'll want to use it with every bass and rig you get!
Main Bass Rig:
Bass:
Dean Edge Q6 - 6 String with Active EMG-HZs

Amp:
Fender BXR 300C - 300 Watt combo

Pedals:
Boss GEB Bass Equalizer
Electro-Harmonix Bass Big Muff Pi
MXR Bass Envelope Filter
Tech 21 SansAmp Bass Driver DI