I basically just got bored one day and recorded this real quick (three passes, one rhythm, one for lead riff, and one solo guitar). The lead riff and chords I had planned (although then I just started playing random chords once it gets going) and the solo bit is just messing around so obviously it sounds like crap for the most part. Long story short I just wanted to know what you guys think of the idea as a whole for the start of the song, any comments/suggestions would be much appreciated. Here's the link to my old myspace page I unearthed so I could post it:
http://www.myspace.com/tolbelannounced

EDIT: It's High E...sorry about that.
Last edited by mattvl at Nov 11, 2007,
High E, the last one. And referring to the name, it's just because the lead riff is on the high E string...only way I can remember which recording is what.
Lower the ryth guitar volume a bit. Raise the lead. Lots of mistakes but easily fixed with rerecording. It's good man, you have some skill. Just need some messing with the EQ and you'd have a great song right there. Maybe tone down the delay a little bit. It makes it hard to hear what you're doing in some parts of the soloing.
Yeah, the third guitar had alot of delay on it, I know. It was all improv so I just sorta kicked the effects dial on my amp as I was playing and that's what came out. I didn't bother editing anything because it was just a thrown together recording (mostly to try out mic'ing my amp for the first time...and seeing if I could improv at all. Speaking of which, don't pay attention to the tapping, I started playing another song partway through, just to see if by some strange chance it might sound not like crap). I think the SM57 worked pretty well anyway, it's the first time I used it to mic the amp.
Man, I really like 1. Very melodic, you should track some mellow leads over it, doesnt have to be fancy or fast, but I think it would at to the overall effect.