I've been playing for about 7 years, Had lessons for roughly the first 2. Playing a bit of everything ...whatever I liked, I learned. Mostly Classic rock.
I've been in numerous bands, playing the clubs, playing pretty much all covers. That's pretty restricting, learning-wise. But My current band is getting pretty serious and we're starting to write original stuff, moving into more of the modern rock stuff. My singer is good at writing lyrics, and my bassist is great at writing progressions and melodies. My way of writing is different tho...I have to sit down by myself and work out stuff. I'd like to be able to give more input on the spot, at practice. And lately, anything I write tends to sound the same, or boring/predictable.

Basically, I'm looking for advice on what direction I should be heading. What scales and techniques I should be working on. (I'm not interested in the least with sweep picking or shredding), I mostly just want to be a better lead rock player, and improve my improv and soloing skills.
What scales do you know now? You should definitely have learned the pentatonic/blues scales by now if you just go around learning whatever classic rock songs you felt like. That's how I learned them.

Quote by emad
jthm_guitarist
Warned for trolling!

Quote by metal4eva_22
Didn't you say that you had a stuffed fox that you would occasionally fuck?

Quote by Axelfox
It's not a fox,it's a wolf.