So i wana learn to sight read (standard notation) but i've been playing for 8 years n my ears r fairly tuned to learning pieces. So all these books etc out there that are supposed to teach you to sight read start out with simple pieces e.g. mary had a little lamb. and because these tunes are banged into us from the time we were little kiddies and my tuned up ears, i get two notes into reading n then go off on my own coz i know the tune. I hope im making sense here. But yeh, anyone else had this problem and has a method to overcome it?
I don't know what to tell you, reading music was my downfall in school band, I was a good musician, could play just about anything they threw at me, but couldn't read music worth diddly. Sight reading was out the window completely. I knew the notes, still can sit down and figure it out note by note, but sight reading was just not there.

Practice at it, that's all I know of, "practice makes perfect" is the old adage, and it's not something you've heard all your life for no reason. Sight reading was my downfall, I just never could get the hang of it, but if you practice at it, you may be able to. Most of our high school band could play right through a piece they'd never seen before with little trouble. Always amazed me. After working at it 4 years I still probably couldn't sight read "Mary Had A Little Lamb" right...

Practice at it, that's all I know of to tell you. I had to take my sax parts home, pick them out one note at a time then memorize everything, I was that crummy at reading sheet music. And I could write it...

One question though, do you know how to read music to begin with? I probably could if I needed to, it's been over 30 years...but to be able to sight read you have to know how to read music to begin with. So that would be the first step, learn to read music, then practice at sight reading, if you don't know how to read music already or not well. From there, practice...
Hmmm...I wonder what this button does...