So... the new laws in EU (don't know about the of the world) Forces the guitar manufacturers to use silver solder instead of the led.
ONE HELL to de-solder.

Any tips?
"I never liked those Deep Purples or those sort of things. I always hated it. I always thought it was a poor man’s Led Zeppelin"
// Angus Young

+1
yeah man, new laws prevent lead content in ANY product ANYWHERE. I work as an electronics technician so its made life real difficult...
All I can say is get a hot tip iron (I use about 400-450°C) and increase your dwell time. The danger of this though is burning the board, but hey, what can you do? Good luck
Bowing down to disillusion, hats off and applause to Rogues and evolution - Incubus - Rogues
Man, life is hard Ehm I got a 15 watt iron, will it do?
"I never liked those Deep Purples or those sort of things. I always hated it. I always thought it was a poor man’s Led Zeppelin"
// Angus Young

+1
But seriously... Why the new law? If anybody ever whould go nuts and eat circuitboards?..
// Angus Young

+1
same reason for banning a lot of e number additives, theres's a 1 in a 10000000000000000000000000000000 chance that'll give you cancer or something
Quote by Kutanmoogle
Now introducing Megabreth, Dave Mustaine's signature Tic-Tac!

Member of the ENGL Family

Gear:

Hamer Vector
OLP John Petrucci
ENGL Thunder 50
EHX Holy Grail
EHX Small Clone
EHX Big Muff USA
Boss DD-3
Vox V847
Korg Toneworks OD
hmmm i lucked out... ive got tons of lead solder at my house from back in the day and im hoarding it all so no sharing
It's mainly to do with the disposal of the product at the end of its lifetime (the WEEE directive). If the thing was disposed of and had moisture/damp on it, the lead could contaminate the water and the ground around it - not good.