ok so i just got a crate solid state half stack and im playing through a stock gibson studio les paul and i cant get an awesome "metal tone" how should i set up the eq IE low, mid,hi and the gain and the shape which transform the tone from real distortin to a softer overdrive sound? Help me please this is my first time not stacking pedals to get my tone trying to get a less synthethic sound by losing pedals as much as possable
You need a new amp.
Recognized by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2008
Quote by utsapp89
^I'd let a pro look at it. Once you get into the technicalities of screws...well, it's just a place you don't want to be, friend.
lol well im saving for the krankenstein but for now i needed something cheap i could rock on
You're going in such bad directions with your amps my friend. I'd say look for a used Mesa on Craigs list. I got my MKIII for 640.
My Band

Equipment:
ESP EC-500 EMG 81/85
Mesa Boogie MK III
Marshall 1960B cab
well i was looking into the mesa but i had a chance to play the krank and omg it blew my mind away
If a krank did that, you'll soil your own, and possibly the person next to you's pants if you try a Mesa.
Gear:
Gibson Les Paul Custom
Epiphone EDS-1275
Epiphone Les Paul
Schecter C-1+
Peavey Delta Blues
I don't think it's possible to get a balls-to-the-wall metal tone out of that Crate.. you got what you payed for, I guess..

I, personally, have been looking around for a Mesa.. or at least a 6505..
Alright, a couple things are going wrong for you my friend.

Quote by syringe
crate

IMO, Crate is like the VW of amps. And I mean when VW was cheap AND crappy. Crates are... well. Cheap. And crappy. Not gonna get a very good metal tone... or really a very good tone in general... out of most Crates.

Quote by syringe
solid state