Well, someone from school that I have recently started talking to wanted me to go and play some tunes with him. He mainly plays Dream Theater and Lamb of God, I basically told him my views on music etc... I am very knowledgeable when it comes to metal that I may have came off as "decent musician", but you see, I am not very good, I am just a novice at playing... should I even bother going if they are playing those kind of tunes when I am a novice? Or should I just tell him maybe later? If I went I wouldn't be able to play anything they play and would look like a jack ass... Suggestions :P?
Tell him your skill level and explain to him you may not be able keep up on the songs.
Just play some chords over and over and let him solo over it.
Quote by 40oz2freeedom
just ask her to touch her toes naked....shell never expect whats next
Is this a real gig or just a jam request?

Because if its a jam, go for it but be honest with them about your abilities. You will never build chops unless you start playing with other musicians. And playing with people who are better than you is an excellent way to quickly develop chops and rise to the next level.

I started a regular gig sitting in with some guitarists who are light years ahead of me. Yes, it can be a nerve racking experience but the payoff is huge, and even after one week, I can see how I've improved and expanded my bass playing.
Get out there and jam every chance you get with every genre you can. Best way to grow as a musician.

One more thing, it doesnt matter how good you are (in a sense) it matters how confident you are.

If you want to jam in/around Mooresville NC message me.
Go with it, get into a groove and enjoy it. That's the best way to expand in your playing ability. Playing with people that are higher in skill level than you can always throw tips your way and nifty little pointers that will help you out. Have fun with it and remeber it's just a Jam.