So I've noticed a few threads going around lately along the lines of:

"I've just started playing with my fingers, god they hurt!" etc

And I've decided to make a thread about what to do when your fingers start to hurt.

First things first, if your fingers start to hurt, STOP. Believe me, when I started playing I didn't stop playing after my fingers started hurting and they started bleeding.

So stop playing, and wait a few days or possibly a week or two till you get cysts forming or the tips of your fingers. Simple as. I stopped playing after I saw sense and now I can hold a lighter under my finger tips and not feel a thing.

if you've got any suggestions then your welcome to suggest them.

Hopefully this'll stop all the threads about newbies fingers hurting.
Quote by skater dan0
Damn you and your ninja-like modding
Last edited by fleajr_1412 at Nov 14, 2007,
i jus carry on playin till i get blisters, then pop em with a needle and leave it for a day or jus play with a pick for a while

works for me
Shout "I'm a man, hear me roar" and suck it up.

I havent stopped playing when my fingers started hurting as a beginner, after a few days it didn't hurt anymore.
For long you live and high you fly
But only if you ride the tide
And balanced on the biggest wave
You race toward an early grave.

Ben Hamelech
Depends on the type of hurt if its your fingers tips getting "raw" then you could carry on or stop its up to you. But if you actual muscles or joints hurting then STOP because as Dimeback darrel said "you will tool up your hands".
yeah, you arent kidding about the cysts, its like my fingers are dead ^_^
Epi LP Custom SILVERBURST

Quote by thefitz

Hold it like you hold a Crunchwrap Supreme.

Official Chiodos Fan of the Bass Militia
PM DinkyDaisy to Join
You just need to keep going, unless you can't take the pain anymore. Just when it happened to me I just waited for around 10 mins and went right back to playing.
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...