Hey, I'm looking for a guitar for about 300-500euro. A decent one but nothing more expensive than 500. I was thinking about a rickenbacker(since REM are my fave band!) but I heard they're pretty expensive. I just want a pretty standard run of the mill (decent!) electric. I have my brothers one that's about 10 years old("sunn mustang fender") but it's in pretty bad shape. Any ideas for me getting a new one? I've been playing now for 8 months so I don't just want a begginers choice one! But at the same time, I'm not really looking for a specific sound in the guitar. Just a standard one. If there is such a thing!!
Thats over 700 american. You can pretty much get what ever you want. For metal, ya want hu8mbuckers, hell, I want humbuckers for everything. Unless your playing jazz, singles are an aquired taste for distortion. But they were the first, just try as many guitars as you can, but you cant go wrong with a standard fender strat.
Quote by dewdadrew
Thats over 700 american. You can pretty much get what ever you want. For metal, ya want hu8mbuckers, hell, I want humbuckers for everything. Unless your playing jazz, singles are an aquired taste for distortion. But they were the first, just try as many guitars as you can, but you cant go wrong with a standard fender strat.

Thanks, I'm not really looking for metal sounding ones. Just ones that like REM, U2, Pearl Jam, Bruce Springsteen, Editors, etc use.
Quote by dewdadrew

Did you read his post at all?

TS, if you like the clean and jangly sound of Rickenbackers I could recommend a few things:

Try a Telecaster, they can do that sort of sound pretty well,

This guitar:

http://www.rondomusic.com/harm3semi.html

Has that Rickenbacker styling with mini-humbuckers and an ebony fretboard (also promotes a bright clean sound)

Rondo Music is a GREAT company, but I'm not sure they ship out of the US?
Gibson SG Standard
Fender 52 RI Telecaster
'77 Deluxe Reverb
Sunface w/ SunDial
MXR Carbon Copy
Crybaby

Quote by Sid McCall