Poll: Which finger method do you use/recommend?
Poll Options
View poll results: Which finger method do you use/recommend?
Method 1 - Traditional
27 51%
Method 2 - Newer (recommended by JustinGuitar.com)
9 17%
Method 3 - Barre
17 32%
Voters: 53.
I'm new to the guitar and I've seen three different ways to finger the A major chord. Which one do you play/recommend?

Method 1:
Finger 1 on 4th string second fret
Finger 2 on 3rd string second fret
Finger 3 on 2nd string second fret

Method 2:
Finger 2 on 4th string second fret
Finger 1 on 3rd string second fret
Finger 3 on 2nd string second fret

Method 3:
Finger 1 on 2nd, 3rd, and 4th string on second fret (barre)
Last edited by ConstantChange at Nov 15, 2007,
If you can bend the tip of your finger you can just use your index finger across those 3 strings.
I haven't had any lesson's on barre chords, but that seems to be the easiest way for me. I have pretty big hands. I usually get buzz from my 4th string with method 1 because finger 1 is so far away from the fret.
95% of the time, method one. by a country mile

if you have to drop into an a7 really really quickly maybe method 2, but rarely
Get off this damn forum and play your damn guitar.
I don't do any of those. I use 2nd finger on the 5th string, 3rd finger on the 4th, and 4th finger on the 2nd. It's by far the most comfortable for me.
Quote by dudetheman
So what? I wasted like 5 minutes watching DaddyTwoFoot's avatar.

Metalheads are the worst thing that ever happened to metal.
Method 1, or an E shape barre (577655), depending on the song. If you're new I think you should stick to method 1 or 2 since method 3 doesn't lead into A shape barre chords very well.

If you're fingers are big you could treat it like an A shape barre chord but just not use your index finger (ie: finger with 2,3,4).
2002 Muddy Waters Fender Telecaser (MIM) (w/ Bill Lawrence pickups & black matte pickguard)
2006 Ibanez sz520qm (w/ Grover tuners)
Epiphone DR-100

Traynor YCV50-Blue