I've only been taking guitar lessons for about a year now, so I'm still fairly new to the game and very inexperienced when it comes to knowledge. I'll be getting a Schecter soon, but I have no idea what kind of amp to get. At first, I was thinking about a Marshall or a Mesa Boogie, but Mesa Boogies are way out of my price range. However, I'm open to any kind of suggestions. My budget range can't exceed around $600, but if there is a pretty good amp for $700-800, then I can at least hear about it. My favorite bands are Avenged Sevenfold, Velvet Revolver, Nightwish, and Pantera. Can anyone help me pick out a good amp for hard rock/metal? I can definitely use some help, and it would be greatly appreciated.
Last edited by MementoMori1313 at Nov 15, 2007,
JCM 800 used
Quote by Kutanmoogle
Now introducing Megabreth, Dave Mustaine's signature Tic-Tac!

Member of the ENGL Family

Gear:

Hamer Vector
OLP John Petrucci
ENGL Thunder 50
EHX Holy Grail
EHX Small Clone
EHX Big Muff USA
Boss DD-3
Vox V847
Korg Toneworks OD
I'd rather go with a Peavey 5150/6505. It has a good crunch and should do the Velvet Tones without problems (it has a great EVH tone IMO) and the heay stuff will work great on it. Many people believe the JCM800's are massive gain mosters, but they really aren't (at least the one channel) and it has just enough gain for Guns N' Roses.
Quote by stratman_13
It's okay Gabel. You kick ass.

18watter video demo

My band

Recognised by the Official EG/GG&A Who To Listen To List 2009
either a peavey valveking, marshall anything or listen to the other guys that kno more
Quote by LesPaulHer0
"in the grand scheme of things, nobody cares"

Gear:
Dean 10K Commemorative Razorback
Ibanez RG 3EX1
BC Rich Mockingbird Evil Edge
Fender Acoustic
Marshall MG250DFX
Ibanez Weeping Demon Wah
Electro Harmonix Small Clone Full Chorus