Page 1 of 2
One plays lead guitar for Metallica, one of the world's most successful and talented bands. The other was kicked out of Metallica for erratic behavior - Oh yeah, and founded the equally successful band Megadeth!

So, who is your favorite and why?

My pick is obvious.
id have to go with hammett simply for the fact that he has much more catchy style of playing. Mustaine does seem to have more intracate stuff though
...Duh.

Dave Mustaine is a God of rhythm guitar.

Pretty damned good lead player too, in my opinion.

Hey guys! I just started playing electric guitar should I get a Gabson Lay Pall or a Femdor Startokaster. I like the picks on the gabsons but i like how sweet femdors look. Beforre i get a gabson what company makes them?
Mustaine. Holy Wars alone proves it. Playing that **** AND singing it at the same time? Damn...

But I also just like Megadeth more than Metallica, so maybe that's why.
Metallica was good when they had Dave and now they suck... Megadeth is amazing... to me the answer is obvious. Dave all the way, he can do rythym, solo, sing and hes just incredibly talented. Dave kickes Kirks ass everyday of the week and twice on sundays.
From 83-Black Album, Hammett.
That was before he sucked.
From Countdown/RIP, Mustaine, definitely.
The Whale Of Woe of the Primus Sucks Club. PM StratEnRegalia to join.
They both have a unique style of playing and I believe Mustaine's work is usually more technical. Mustaine/Friedman > Hammett/Hetfield
First off Mustaine is a god
however MEgadeth is no way as popular as metallica however i still believe that Mustaine is amazing at writing songs-his riffs are phenomenal
however when it comes to solos Kirk wins because his solos are a lot more melodic and varied.
Mustaine solos sound frantic all the time to me...
however still i say mustaine rules
Dave Mustaine.
"Music is an expression. Not competition." ~ Woe, Is Me

Guitar
ESP LTD Viper 400

Amp
Orange Crush 35LDX