I am a beginning guitarist with a fender fat strat MIM, i am looking to buy a 5W tube amp because i just want to play in my room. i am looking at the palomino v8, peavey royal 8 valveking, and the epi vj combo. i want to buy used because of budget

i haven't been able to find a palomino v8 used even though i heard this is the best of the 3, so which is better, the valve king or the epi vj note, i am saying combo, i can't afford the head and cab, it is out of my budget.

also, if another amp could do the trick better, please recommend one. i mainly want to play clapton and the beatles, maybe some zeppelin.
a good way to sound like clapton
get an es-335 or a les paul or an SG
with a marshall tube amp
turn the treble tone knob down to one
put some overdrive on
play away
This is called the "woman tone"
I plays guitars.
get an old 60's fender tube amp and poke a few little holes in the cone, its right on
Christ, lots of Clapton haters.

Y'all got no reason to hate clapton.
"The future's uncertain, and The End is always near."
-Jim Morrison
where? i'm off to wipe'em all out!!! lol.

which claptone are you talking about TS? he's got a lot. my personal favorite is his modern tone, playing his strat through a '57 Tweed-Twin amp. He had a lot more, including the tone in "The Beano" album, a cranked marshall and a Les Paul's bridge pickup. his layla tone, using a cranked Tweed Champ from the 50s playing his 'brownie' thorugh it. His '80s tone i guess, with his strat loaded with lace sensors through Soldano Stacks. so the 'key' to getting his tone, is a 'cranked' amp.

Quote by rip3149
get an old 60's fender tube amp and poke a few little holes in the cone, its right on

no. that's really harsh nasty nasal distortion. and '60s fender tube amps are blackfaces. they are meant to be clean, so clapton didn't do any of that. if you think what you "hear" is like clapton after doing that, u might need to use Q-tips.
Call me "Shot".

ShotRod Guitar Works