My problem is...ive been playing for 12 years and can play pretty good i know lots of scales lots of songs and can move around the fretboard nicely but i have no idea how to use scales to make riffs or solos. they say dimebag used the blues scale in lots of his music i can play lots of pantera and love it but i dont see the blues scale in any of it. i just dont see it and its killin' me. how the hell does the penetonic or blues scale which i can play with lightening speed get turned into a unique piece? i understand wwhwwwh and how chords are made but when i play the g major i dont see wwhwwwh at all, i do on one string but when its applied to all six strings i dont see it. If anyone can make sense on this me and my guitar would be eterninally gratefull.
That's no surprise, because that WWH-System sucks like nothing else. I reccomend switching to this one:

Major/ionian: 1 2 3 4 5 6 j7
Dorian: 1 2 b3 4 5 6 b7
Phrygian: 1 b2 b3 4 5 b6 b7
Lydian: 1 2 3 #4 5 6 j7
Mixolydian: 1 2 3 4 5 6 b7
Aeolian: 1 2 b3 4 5 b6 b7
Locrian: 1 b2 b3 4 b5 b6 b7

etc.

Remember:
dorian 6th
phrygian 2nd
lydian 4th
mixolydian 7th

Takes some effort to relearn, but makes visualizing MUCH easier.

Now to making riffs out of scales: That's a more complicated one. Learn diatonic theory, it will help you with how intervals relate to tension. Listen to Mozart. Try to make simple melodies, don't worry when they sound cheesy, you'll pass this soon. Or take a pantera riff and change it's elements. It will help to develop an ear for that.
^ seconded.

Äh, Sie wollen also mit Schlitz.
Last edited by Philipp Sobecki at Nov 17, 2007,
Im thinking he means that the dorian has a variation on the 6th of the scale, phrygian on the 2, etc, etc. I dont know, thats just a guess, but I dont see why you would remember those and not just the modes. That just adds stuff.
Quote by funkdaddyfresh