I have been playing through crap gear since I started playing guitar(epi SG special+spider 3) But for christmas I'll be getting a used crate palomino and I was wondering would a new guitar sound that much better than my epi with new seymour duncan pickups.
Depending on which guitar you get...

If you buy another guitar with medium output seymour duncans then it is going to sound about the same, but with buying a better guitar, it's likely that you're gonna get something that plays better as well.

And IMO, a guitar that plays great doesn't need the best pickups to sound amazing.
Major of 7 String Legion 7 > 6

Carvin DC747
Ibanez RG2228
Schecter Avenger Custom Shop
and my baby....
Gibson Explorer Studio
IMO, the epi specials ( i have a les paul) sound pretty good if you play them through a good amp, but it also would not really be worth it to put new pups in the guitar, as it would not make THAT much of a tonal difference, my suggestion is play the SG thorugh the palomino until next chirstmas, then get a really nice guitar for chirstmas next year (thats what i did last christmas, getting a valvatronix, now im getting an american strat for chirstmas this year)
Fender Standard American Stratocaster
Boss DS-1
Budda Budwah
Electroharmonix Small Clone
Vox AD50VT
The Spider 3 is better than the crate. Don't listen to the assholes on here when they talk badly about line 6. They're decent amps, most pro artists use at least one line 6 effect or rack unit in their rig, plus they come with celestion speakers. I own a Spider 2, and have used a Spider 3.
Quote by ottoavist

i suppose there's a chance
i'm just a litte too shallow to consider
that maybe i've been a little more eager
each day to wake up and take a shower
brush my teeth and smile for the mirror
Quote by freshtunes