So I have a bit of a problem. Whenever I'm playing by myself, I can play fine (i.e. not great, but it's not too bad), but as soon as I get together with the band or play in front of other people I just tense up and my technique falls apart. It doesn't really matter if I'm just playing power chords or whatever, but as soon as I try to play leads it just sounds awful.

I suppose it's because I'm nervous, but I don't really feel that way because I know I can play the stuff, I just always screw up at practice or performing. Anyone have any idea how I can make this stop happening?
Ignore the audience in your head. I go into my own little "zone," and I'm cool as can be. My body is still nervous...aka, I shake during the first 2-5 minutes of a set, but it's all good. But my head is totally clear, so I don't really mess up the playing or anything.

Just be calm! Don't try to be an attention ***** first off, just be concerned with having fun and playing LOUD!

Hey guys! I just started playing electric guitar should I get a Gabson Lay Pall or a Femdor Startokaster. I like the picks on the gabsons but i like how sweet femdors look. Beforre i get a gabson what company makes them?
just relax, everyone that your infrount of has so much crap going on. noone is actually paying attention to you, mite as will be playing alone in your room. thats what i tell myself to keep from completly falling apart infrount of people anyway
I often make the mistake of over-complicating my solo stuff. Nerves are always a factor for me and so I often end up repeating the same sort of phrases and using the same techniques.

Keep it simple and I think you'll find better ideas come to mind, and you're be able to carry them out with ease.
i have the opposite..i screw up when practising but when i have an audience its perfect ( most of the time )

"The mind is its own place, and in itself

Can make a Heav'n of Hell, a Hell of Heav'n"

- John Milton, Paradise Lost