I recently started playing guitar, and my grandparents own a hofner '62 artist bass , or something. I can have it 'till I stop playing guitar(I know it's practically useless to give a bass guitar to a guitar player, but alright.). So I googled hofner, and I get all these links to fan sites , of course dedicated to hofner guitars.
I would like to know wether I have some kind of awesome superbass(wich would make the fan sites right.), or just some old bass(wich makes them wrong, and weird). Thank you.
If it would help if I'd make some pics, just ask.
Originally Posted by iforgotmyname
I'd love to get quoted once...

Being dutch is ubercool.
That's why I used the smiley, and not stuff like: .
What you have is a very fragile, bad sounding, bad balancing, and bad playing bass that's probably worth several thousands of dollars. It's a bloody antique. If I'm thinking the bass I'm thinking of, it's Paul McCartney's favourite, and is more of a collectors item than a player. If I were you, I'd give it back to my grandparents and tell them they have a bass worth a lot of money.
Quote by Cody_Grey102
I was looking at a used Warwick Vampyre LTD 5'er for about $200. I went home to grab my wallet and came back and some jerk with an epic beard got it already..
Hohfner is mostly known as the Paul Mccartny bass.
Some people like it, some people hate it.
For long you live and high you fly
But only if you ride the tide
And balanced on the biggest wave
You race toward an early grave.

Ben Hamelech
Wow. Thanks. Expensive bass. It's my granny's birthday, so this should be a nicer gift to her than the flowers I gave her. Heh heh. Awesome.

<<just called her, didn't really care.>>

Being dutch is ubercool.
Last edited by iforgotmyname at Nov 19, 2007,
Quote by BassistGal
Hohfner is mostly known as the Paul Mccartny bass.
Some people like it, some people hate it.

And I would be on the hate 'em to death side.