Hey everyone,

So today i went out and bought a nice black leather strap for my Epiphone G400. I put it on the guitar as soon as i got home and started playing standing up which i have never tried before and i noticed two things.

1) Playing whilst standing up is kinda harder.
2) The neck on my guitar is heavy and since the front strap button on all SG's is on the back of the guitar and the guitar "swings" a little towards the neck the neck.

After like 10 minutes of playing whilst standing up i have this weird feeling in my shoulder. Is this just a beginner thing or is my guitar just heavy ?
OK, to answer one of your questions, playing while standing does take a bit of time to get used to.

2) The neck on my guitar is heavy and since the front strap button on all SG's is on the back of the guitar and the guitar "swings" a little towards the neck the neck.

What are you trying to say???? That the neck swings down? If that's the case, then tilt it up. When I play standing, I play with the guitar's neck tilted more or less 45 degrees up.

As for the shoulder thing, I don't know what to say sorry.
I don't speak out of experience, but epi's and les pauls in general have a heavier neck, that's why the neck swings down, not because the strap buttons are both on the body (look at strats)
Gear:
Fender Jazzmaster
Boss DS-2
Digitech RP150 (with Line6 EX-1 Exp pedal)
Orange Crush 30R

My Youtube Page
Read this!You know you really want to...

your shoulder hurts because its not used to holding up that kind of weight. just keep playing standing up a little more everyday, and it shouldn't bother you after a while.
Nah its fine if i tilt it up to a comfortable position but if i let my arms go the neck swings down. That wasn't a question, it was just something i noticed.
The SG neck is supposedly neck-heavy.
RIP Jasmine You.

Lieutenant of the 7-string/ERG Legion

Quote by FaygoBro420