im in a group now and i'm going to have to start writing songs very soon, what do you suggest that i learn? im learning the pentatonic scales, what other scales should i be focusing on? because me and my singer/other guitarist are going to learn the scales and then we are going to like start recording

and also whenever i improvise in the pentatonic minor, it always ends up sounding the same, i need to learn some different licks, what do you suggest to discover new licks?
yes i know those, ive been playing for bout 2 years now, but what i meant about learning scales was learning them all over the neck
If you're gonna write songs, you'll have to focus on chord construction and progressions first. There's no point in writing solos if you have no context to put them in.
Quote by kyrreca
If you're gonna write songs, you'll have to focus on chord construction and progressions first. There's no point in writing solos if you have no context to put them in.

any suggestions for that?

and we already have a couple of simple progressions
You need to learn shapes to play all over the neck, you can either figure out the shapes by knowing what notes are in the scale your using and finding where those notes lay all over the neck, or do it by intervals if you find working with numbers easier. Or perhaps the easiest way to see someone who has mapped your scale all over the neck and just memorise it.

Im not sure what sort of genre music you wishing to write. Though im sure you can start writing songs before you know scales.

If any of thats confusing im sure theres in depth information in the lessons part of the site.

Goodluck.