My amp head and 4x12 speaker cab have an option to go 4, 8, or 16 ohm. What is the difference? Any suggestions on which way I should go? Also, does anybody have any suggestions for settings on a peavey XXX? I'm very new to this. I have a Peavey XXX head with a Crate FW412 Speaker cab. I'm not exactly getting the tone I want through my Jackson DK2M, but I think when I get to my drummers house and plug up my Les Paul with EMG ZW set it'll be alot hotter. Also, I just put new tubes in and haven't had it professionally biased. But I messed with the bias knob and it seemed to not make much of a difference to me. I'm just not getting the volume and gain I want, which shouldn't be a problem with a Peavey XXX. Any suggestions?
That depends, how many ohms is the output on the head? It's switchable?
most cabs are standard 8 ohms, and since that head is switchable, whatever ohmage your cab is, just switch it to that on the head. easy enough. as far as the rest of your question goes i cant help you
Quote by shakin'cakes
First of all, I enjoy deathcore for it's complexity and it's the only genre heavy enough for me

Quote by Highway60Bob
I want an amp good for playing hippie tunes. I want it to be an actual amp, not a tube amp.
ok, basic EQ for me. bass around 6-7 mids 8-9 treble 9-10 gain all the way on the crunch chanel
The ohms are switchable on both the head AND the cab, both are capable of 4, 8 or 16
i dont really think it matters, just keep them both on 8, it does'nt make it louder or affect the sound. you would only need the 16 or 4 if the cab or head only runs on 16 or 4, which is pretty uncommon
Quote by shakin'cakes
First of all, I enjoy deathcore for it's complexity and it's the only genre heavy enough for me

Quote by Highway60Bob
I want an amp good for playing hippie tunes. I want it to be an actual amp, not a tube amp.