I've been playing here and there for a year now...
But Its weird coz I never followed any pattern. I started playing any song I could the second I picked a guitar up. The technique and theory naturally followed.
But i dunno what next...
I wanna start writing stuff and I want a heavy sound. I've looked at no end of bands and their songs, finding 36 Crazyfists can sound rele heavy with a Drop D while other bands I like use Drop B or CGCFAD...
How can I decide which is best?
Whichever one you like. Only you can really decide that.
Oppression, quiet and Repressed
Swept under the seams
the bed of the acquiesced
where we sleep, insomniac dreams
i just use standard... i really dont see the point of tunings lower than the key of B, if you have a bass playing also....
Just experiment n decide which one you like best. Perhaps start with Drop D, if you find you want to play even lower try Drop Db n if thats still not low enough then go for Drop C.
Ok lets say I decide Drop C... Which gauge would you guys recommend?
Still deciding between C and B. Feel free to tell me the pros and cons u guys have had if any with either tuning. I mean so far im basing my decision on songs I like...
Quote by ElliotUG
Ok lets say I decide Drop C... Which gauge would you guys recommend?
Still deciding between C and B. Feel free to tell me the pros and cons u guys have had if any with either tuning. I mean so far im basing my decision on songs I like...

my mates band tune to drop B and he uses these strings i believe:
http://www.guitarampkeyboard.com/en/69290
Top lel.
^--Electric or acoustic? Im pretty sure youre talking electric but i just want to be sure.
I would begin with standard tuning, but that's just me. Of course, if you want to play with different tunings, you can always experiment.
Drop B it is then...
Just looked at some Chevelle and Slipknot songs amongst others so...
Cheers again dudes.
Quote by ElliotUG
I've been playing here and there for a year now...