Hi, I was wondering if anyone could shed some light on my guitar.

It's a zakk wydle epiphone which I bought on ebay (it was a fair price, slightly cheaper than I could have got from a online store, the seller lived in my state and the guitar was sent from there. and had 1500+ 100% positive feedback) It has active emg 81/85 set in it. I have been playing for 18 years and this guitar is very nice to play, very low action, looks beautifully made. Intonation was spot on. The pickups look to be proffesionaly installed.

But the serial does not add up according to http://www.guitardaterproject.org/epiphone.aspx

the Serial begins with IO586XXXX

insert any random number instead of the x's , thats the production number, no point posting them.

But this means made in korea in 2005 on the 86th month...

I have seen fakes on ebay , but they were gibson zakks. I did all my homework on this and if not for guitar dater website i'd never have questioned it.

Anyone have an explanation for the serial ?
April Vineyard.
I just put my serial number in, mine was made in China. How interesting!

If it was a fake, then how come it came up with any information on that site!? If it was, then wouldn't there be no information on it atall!?

Either way, if it plays as well as you say....that's a pretty good fake, lol.
~:.*.:~She Is Your Suffering~:.*.:~

Quote by Green_Jelly
Hello Kitty. Everyone knows cats can't play guitar.
Yeah ^

It does play very nice, Ive just looked at photos of headstocks and the main difference is mine is stamped with

"Limited edition epiphone custom shop"

epiphone has a custom shop?
April Vineyard.
Post some pics up and ill have a look at it,

Main points are headstock shape, body colour (cream or white - real ones are a darkish cream), headstock shape, print on the back of the headstock.
Ok first shot is mine , and yes the paint line looks dodgy..