What fingers are more proper to use for a simple power chord? Does it really matter or is there an actual way you are supposed to do it?
LARGE TEXT
i use my index finger and my pinky finger most of the time....i used to use my ring finger when i started learning...it's easier for me to use my pinky for sliding chords etc...but it's completely up to the player..there is no right or wrong way....however if u are doing the 'spider fingers' power chord thing that dave mustaine do u will need to use your ring finger....
i need a bishop preaching fire to get away with my sins...i despise everything i see so i dont give a fuck if ya HATE ME!
------------------------
------------------------
------------------------
--------------P--------
--------------R--------
------I-----------------

I - index
R- Ring
P - Pinky

sorry ive never really tabbed anything before, but you get the idea.

thats how i do it atleast
u can use pointing, index and pink. you can use pointing with bared index finger 2 strings or what the guy metallica4evr mentioned above theres no real wrong way.
My Gear:
-Laguna LE322
-Vox Valvetronix AD30VT
-Boss DS-1 Distortion Pedal
-Yamaha Bass (Idk what model)

To Get:
-New Humbucker Pickups
exactly...no right or wrong way...just play how it's comfortable to u
i need a bishop preaching fire to get away with my sins...i despise everything i see so i dont give a fuck if ya HATE ME!
Quote by sidvicious182
------------------------
------------------------
------------------------
--------------P--------
--------------R--------
------I-----------------

I - index
R- Ring
P - Pinky

sorry ive never really tabbed anything before, but you get the idea.

thats how i do it atleast

That's how I used to do it, but my pinky always misses the string. I'll just practice that way or my old way.
LARGE TEXT
for a three string power chord i use the above illustration...but i usually just use two strings....
IRP ^ as above.
Quote by Mister.Y