I've been playing guitar every single day for the last two and a half years. I've used the cheap pawn shop guitars, to the crappy hand-me-down guitars. I used an old(and really crappy) Yamaha guitar for a year until it broke. I've never bought my own guitar.

My dream guitar has been a Gibson Les Paul Studio Electric Guitar, the white one to be exact. A thousand dollars is a lot of money; the most I've ever spent was $75. I walked into Guitar Center once and it was the first guitar I saw and I pointed it out to my girlfriend like a little kid in a candy shop. It's the guitar I want.

In April I'm getting $4,500 and for the last eight years I've had no idea on what I'd spend it on, until now. I want this guitar, and I want a decent sized amp. I'm not sure if I should do it, though. I'm not THAT great of a player; self-taught.. But, I just feel like I deserve this.. I've had to use these poor excuses for guitars for years and I feel this should be my pay off.

Should I do it? I'll have the money(and spending it won't mean I can't pay rent, it's money to be spent), I just don't know if I should buy something else for practice purposes.

I'm also very confused on which kind of amp I should get. I've heard things about stacks, tubes, and combos.. I have no clue on what I should be getting.

Thanks for your time.
Well what style do you like to play?

And if you want to buy it then get it, it is a good guitar and will serve you well.
if you have the money then buy, it would make more sense than spending more money of several different guitars, getting slightly better every time. You might as well go straight for a good one.
Gear
Epiphone G-400
Orange Tiny Terror
Marshall 1936 2x12 Cabinet
Blackstar HT-Dual
MXR 10-Band EQ
Ehhh. I don't have a definite style. I play everything except country and jazz, simply because I haven't looked into it yet. I guess I'm a hybrid when it comes to styles.