ive noticed a bunch of my friends play power chords with their pinky, and I play them with my ring finger, which way is proper technique? i know its preference, but I was just curious what is considered 'proper'?

also is there any way to distinguish which way you should play a power chord? with fingers 1 &3 (3 fretting 2 notes), or with fingers 1 3 and 4. I know that I sometimes use each of these techniques really only because ive seen other people do them...

I am self-taught and since the beginning ive been playing power chords with my 1 3 4 fingers, but then I saw some people using their 1st and 3rd, and now 1st and 4th, just wondering if there is a particular time to use each technique?

thanks!
1 and 3 sounds "proper" im self taught too and as i recall most guitar players do the same 1 and 3. Unless you tune your guitar so you only use you 1 and 2 fingers but i havent gotten into that yet.....
Gear:
Ibanez RG4EX1 (moDE)

Ibanez Electro-Acustic

Zoom G2.1u

Roland Cube 60
Vox AD50VT 2x12

And A Great Passion!

Best Spanish Rock Band IS and WILL always be "Heroes Del Silencio"!!!!!
1 and 3 should be "proper" but it's not really a big deal

As far as how power chords should be fingered, 1+3 and 1 +3+4 are both the same chord. They both produce slightly different sounds. I like to use 1+3+4 for a slightly meatier sound and I like to use 1+3 for faster rhythms and palm muting
Up the Irons
When I play power chords, I usually play the 5th and the octave, so I use my ring and pinky.

Edit: Nevermind, I misunderstood your post, I use 1, 3, & 4 as well.

Edit 2 : When I'm doing blues shuffle kind of stuff, where you kind of extend the chord, I only use my 1st and 2nd, though, and use 3 and/or 4 for extensions.
My Gear
Schecter C-1 Classic
Fender HM Strat
Mesa/Boogie 1987 Mark III
Peavey Classic Chorus 130
Boss GT-8
Robert Keeley TS9DX Flexi-4X2
Last edited by Zephyyr at Dec 9, 2007,