Hi,

I've been wanting to learn to play the guitar for a few years now. I bought a cheap guitar about 5 years ago and gave up quickly. Come to find out, it was a piece of junk, my guitar playing friend couldnt even play it well.

Now that I make a little more money I can afford something quality. I was surfing youtube and found a guy playing the spanish guitar (http://www.youtube.com/user/johnclarkemusic). That's what I want to play. So my question is: How do I go from an absolute newbie to playing spanish guitar? Should I start off learning on a spanish guitar? Or should I learn on a regular accoustic? Any insight offered would be appreciated.

Thanks,

S41
I started guitar with classical, and I would recommend doing the same. Not necessarily just for the music aspect (which is very awesome), but for the techniques and theory that go along with it. I can see it helping a lot with whatever style you want to play, spanish included.

If you're serious about learning, you should look into finding a good teacher or something. You could also try reading through some posts and threads about beginner practice methods, some of which I'm sure are posted on this site.

Hope that helps a little.
*moved*
Populus vult decipi. Decipiatur.

Quote by Mistress_Ibanez
It's can be a contraction and genitive case.

Quote by Mistress_Ibanez
If you cut down on these costs students won't learn so well, effecting the "quality"...
Learn regular acoustic, then branch off from there

You need the basics, like chords, notes, scales, etc.

Now when you say acoustic, I hope you mean classical, 'cause most flamenco players from paco de lucia to the gipsy kings, use classical guitars, with the nylon strings.

Because if you haven't noticed the fretboard on a classical guitar is a lot wider than acoustics and electrics.

Fingerpickin'

Fingerpickin' is key in flamenco, if you don't know fingerpickin', then you're out.