What's better, Lessons, online or lessons with actual instructors? My one friend gets lessons at Morrados. But my other friend didn't and they sound like they have the same basic skill at playing guitar.
An instructor is more effective i think. Self taught people often uses alot of time practising their skills so after all i think it's about what's the best for you. If you don't get the basics, try instructor, if your motivated, determed and ready to spend some time in front of the comp, do it yourself.
we'll I know how to read tabs, but chords are a no for me, I mean, when I'm looking up chords online I find some good stuff, but, yeah I guess an instructor would be more effective.
A good instructor is the best method by far, a bad instructor can really mess you up though. Without hearing them it is hard to typify how good they actually are. Your one friend could have a bad instructor and they are both lousy, or your other friend may be doing a really job learning it himself and they both happen to be pretty good. It is hard to say.

However, I can only think of one self-taught virtuosic guitarist (Eddie Van Halen, and I'm pretty sure he did have a minor amount of basic training from his brother), where as every other one I can think of is trained. That probably isn't just a coincidence.
Quote by Matheau
A good instructor is the best method by far, a bad instructor can really mess you up though. Without hearing them it is hard to typify how good they actually are. Your one friend could have a bad instructor and they are both lousy, or your other friend may be doing a really job learning it himself and they both happen to be pretty good. It is hard to say.

However, I can only think of one self-taught virtuosic guitarist (Eddie Van Halen, and I'm pretty sure he did have a minor amount of basic training from his brother), where as every other one I can think of is trained. That probably isn't just a coincidence.