I'm a huge Beatles fan, and I want to get more into Paul's bass playing. I have a couple questions and it would be helpful if someone could help me. I tried using the search bar but it says it's disabled.

How can I get closer to his tone? I just want to know what kind of gear he uses and techniques he uses. Also I've seen Paul use a pick a lot but when I use a pick playing Beatles songs, it sounds more robotic than using fingers.

Also, can you please tell me some more difficult Beatles songs on bass? Many I've learned so far are pretty easy. I'm still a beginner and I want some harder Beatles songs to push me further. The hardest Beatles song I know is "I Saw Her Standing There" and I've got it down.

I'd greatly appreciate any help with these questions. Thanks.
You really want his tone? Man, I think it's the worst non-Gibson tone I've ever heard, especially later on - but anyways:

He used either a Hofner Violin bass in the early years or a Rickenbacker in the later years. Hofners are not tone monsters, and $200 violin copies sound and play just as good as the $3000 real thing. He used picks and flatwound strings - you'd be surprised how much just getting a set of flatwounds will make your tone more like his.

Don't worry about the Rickenbacker - the flatwounds pretty much circumcise the Ric qualities we all know and love. Especially on Abbey Road - he used Rotosound Nylon TruBass flatwounds on that record (the whole thing from what I understand). Get a set of those, and no matter the bass, you'll have that "whale smashing its tail into an empty water tower" tone in no time - just make sure you use a pick so you can actually hear where one note ends and the other begins.

I can get the tone of Something (sort of) using my Precision, flatwounds, and a pick, but it's not as "bwamm, bwamm, bwamm" as the record.
Quote by Cody_Grey102