Ok I have been playing guitar for almost 4 years and all this time I've been using a crappy Squier. I have a FirstAct practice amp and I can play Eruption. So obviously I need to step up my equipment, because my friends and I are forming a band and that junk isn't going to cut it.

I recently started working at our local department store and I've got 900 dollars in my checking account and I want to buy some new equipment. I need a new guitar and a new amp capable of gigging so...

I play: MUSE, Hardcore/Metalcore, Heavy Metal but not like that Disturbed kinda metal more like Haste the Day and The Devil Wears Prada

Here is my dilhema, either buy:

Schecter Tempest Custom (White): $ 600
w/ Rio Grande Crunchbox/Punchbox Pickups $286

OR

PLEASE GIVE ME IDEAS FOR A GOOD LOUD CHEAP GIGGING AMP
Any amp (preferrably tube amp) capable of gigging in a small venue that costs under or around $900. I really don't know what kind of amp I want for gigging, but anything that holds distortion well and is loud, really loud.

So which one should I get first? In a few months a will be able to buy all of it but which one should I get right now?
Last edited by Rocknbird at Jan 26, 2008,
Either way, I think. Your tone won't improve much until you get new of both.. So, whichever you can find a good deal on first I guess.
Matthew 7:7 ""Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you."

Pop Punk! Check us out!: Flinch
Get an amp. Your guitar will sound much better through a new map than a great guitar would sound through that first act.
Founder of the EHX Users Guild
My Photography

Quote by Kyle-Rehm
Please don't tell me I'm the only one that clicked this thread thinking I would learn how to make my guitar sound like a grizzly bear.
New amp, at least it'll make you sound a bit better.