I am brand new to pedals, I have never used one before. I've heard some things about the digitech whammy, and i just wanted to know what UG thinks about it.
Good? Bad? Worth it? Useful?
AROUND THE WORLD

Click here if you like the Washington Wizards
It depends if that's the effect you're looking for, haven't seen any pedals similar to it
well here's the thing, i really have only heard about it, I don't really know what it does...
so what effect does it have?
AROUND THE WORLD

The Digitech Whammy is basically a foot-controlled pitch shifter. That basically means, when you move your foot on the pedal, the pitch goes up and down.
It's not the best effect to start off with, but it's fun to use and good if you want that particular effect.
Gonna Leave this town

Gotta leave this town

Gonna make a whole lotta money

Gonna be big yeah...
(Jimi Hendrix - Hear My Train A Comin')

flickr
ok for a first pedal what would you guys suggest? a wah pedal maybe?
AROUND THE WORLD

The whammy is an amazing pedal I own one and use it alot(octave shifting). However there is another pedal very simular... the boss super shifter, its just a regular stompbox. however you can add an expression pedal.

The other guitarist in my band uses the super shifter, both are very nice pedals, and someday i will own both.
Ibanez JetKing II
Dean Caddy
line 6 spider III 15
Ibanez PM7
boss dd20
EH metal muff
crate gx-15
crate gx-120
yamaha rbx-170
oscar schmidt ob100b
dean markley k-20bx
carvin pb100-10
Sorry for the double post, but for a first pedal I would buy a nice overdrive pedal. Like the english mufin'. Or maybe a metal muff, depending on what you play.
Ibanez JetKing II
Dean Caddy
line 6 spider III 15
Ibanez PM7
boss dd20
EH metal muff
crate gx-15
crate gx-120
yamaha rbx-170
oscar schmidt ob100b
dean markley k-20bx
carvin pb100-10
you want a decent amp first

other than that an OD/distortion probably

wah is a good choice though
Get off this damn forum and play your damn guitar.