Hi,
I'm spending all my money on a bass (only 200-300) and i plan on recording with line in. But it would be nice to have and amp. So basically i want something that does not buzz which it a problem i've had with all cheap amps, and sounds decent ie. really if theres not distortion.

I'm probably asking to much but its worth a try. And anything above $200 Australian ($150 - $180 US) is'nt realy usefull to me because i'm a guitarist and im spending alot of money on a tube combo soon.

I looked at the FAQ but it didnt have prices.
Anyway as always any help would be very much apriciate.

Have a look at these and recomend them as this is the cheapest place for me to buy stuff. https://www.billyhydemusic.com.au/shop/index.cfm?action=browse&id=40
Last edited by white chocolate at Jan 27, 2008,
not that a want to start an argument but i disagree. You sound starts at the instrument therefore you want quality from the beggining.
Still...your amp's preamp boosts and lowers certain frequencys that give a certain amp a certain charachter.

Ashdown is a nice amp company from what ive heard, though those amps will never be usefull for a gig or even practice if thats your intention with it.
When I was in the market for a cheap practice amp, nothing really cheap suited me. After trying out everything that was in the shop, I found out that spending 350 euro's on a SWR LA-12 was the most sensible thing to do. It was far outside my budget, but all amps cheaper than that simply didn't cut it.
I'd suggest you look for something second hand. Or do what I did when I was in your situation; borrow your neighbour's Galien & Krueger.
Amp affects you tone far more than the bass.

A $50 and a $1500 bass will sound pretty much the same through an awful amp. However, even a $50 bass will sound pretty damn good through $1000 worth of amplification.