I've been playing bass for about 5 months and I've become really good at playing finger-style, but I'd like to learn how to use a pick as a second skill. The only reason I've considered it is so that I can "cut-through" my band easier and sometimes, when used correctly, a pick can sound prettty good. The picks I'm using are here. I'm using the Medium version but also have some Heavy ones, but I prefer the Mediums. I really have no issue of playing with a pick while sitting down but I have trouble doing it standing up, especially on the thicker strings. What's some advice about using a pick? For example, how do I hold it, where(on a Jazz bass) do I strike the string and at what angle. Your advice would be much apreciated!
Fender FSR Standard Jazz Bass(Sapphire Blue finish!!)
Squier VM TB Bass
Squier Precision Bass(heavily modified)
Behringer 180 Watt Combo<--My EQ pedal made this sound decent O_o until I get my Gallien-Krueger half stack
you play the pick in wherever place sounds best for you
near the bridge there is more atack and treble
near the neck the sound is more punchy
also most bassist use heavy picks
i prefer ultra light picks beacuse i like that sounds
and soume bassist that use pick play only donwstrokes so the sound is more repetitive but the correct way to use a pick i the way you like and feel comfortable with
My Gear

Squier VM p-bass(i chosed it over a fender!!!) with quarter pounder and gotoh 201!!
fender MIM P bass
epiphone SG 400
Quote by litus
you play the pick in wherever place sounds best for you
near the bridge there is more atack and treble
near the neck the sound is more punchy
also most bassist use heavy picks
i prefer ultra light picks beacuse i like that sounds
and soume bassist that use pick play only donwstrokes so the sound is more repetitive but the correct way to use a pick i the way you like and feel comfortable with
Thanks for the advice! Does anybody else have advice?
Squier VM TB Bass