i'm a guitarist in this rock band, and i feel like we have a big problem (though i'm pretty sure i'm the only one who thinks so).

we've been around for a couple of years, with people coming and going, and the size of our band varying from time to time. one of the things right now that makes our band so unique is our large number of members (nine: 2 guitars, drums, bass, 3 strings, piano, and singer), and our recordings sound pretty good when we're blended together. but when it comes to the live performances, some of us like to crank up our volume (compared to- to be heard or stand out, and the sounds of the instruments either get muffled together so as not to be distinguished from one another, or some instruments are not heard at all. vocals haven't been a problem right now since we've been able to raise their volume so as to be heard the most.

the point is, i wanted to know if it IS possible to have a band of that size to be able to sound well and balanced during live shows, (and that we sounded bad because of other factors, like no concept of sound check, bad equipment, amps, mics, ect.) or is it that having that many people in a band is too ridiculous and a lost cause. any imput into this thread will be greatly appreciated.
Word. At practices work out a sound level that works for everyone and use that live.

If you're doing legit live shows, there should be a sound guy for all that.
Veteran UGer. Suck it.
I'm pretty sure it's okay to have that big of a band. There are entire orchestras that play together and still they manage. You just need someone (like your singer) to go stand where the audience stands, and have a sound check...

Everyone plays and he says who's too loud or not loud enough. That way nobody turns themselves way up and masks everyone else.
Main setup:

ESP Eclipse
PRS Torero SE
Mesa Boogie Dual Rectifier Roadster head, 2x12 cab
FX: Crybaby Slash Wah, Ibanez TS9x, Mesa Boogie Throttle Box, Boss TU-2, BF-3, DD-3, PS-6, RC-3, etc.