Poll: Pick one...
Poll Options
View poll results: Pick one...
Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plustop
14 58%
Ibanez S470DXQM
10 42%
Voters: 24.
So I have narrowed my choice down to two guitars, similar price, and I am looking for info on the quality of both, and which I might be better chosing.

or
Ibanez S470DXQM

Basically I am going for a good solid rock tone, but still be able to do alot of blues. I throw the Ibanez in there because I like to play some Vai/Satch, and because I have heard good things about the trem. Is it hard to set up/ keep in tune? Bear in mind I have no double locking trem experience.

My strat handles all my single coil wants, so I need something with humbuckers. If anyone has any other suggestion around the $700 CAN range, let me know!!

Hawk
Quote by hawk5211
So I have narrowed my choice down to two guitars, similar price, and I am looking for info on the quality of both, and which I might be better chosing.

or
Ibanez S470DXQM

Basically I am going for a good solid rock tone, but still be able to do alot of blues. I throw the Ibanez in there because I like to play some Vai/Satch, and because I have heard good things about the trem. Is it hard to set up/ keep in tune? Bear in mind I have no double locking trem experience.

My strat handles all my single coil wants, so I need something with humbuckers. If anyone has any other suggestion around the $700 CAN range, let me know!!

Hawk

S470 is an excellent guitar.

Getting to grips with any FR system can be a bit tricky, but Ibanez supply a nice manual and there are plenty of tutorials online.
You've read it, you can't un-read it!
I think the idea behind Ibanez's locking tremelo is that it won't go out of tune. Hence why Vai or Satch don't end up with horrendously out-of-tune guitars with what they do. Fender don't use locking tremelos for example, and so nearly any amount of tremelo use tends to put it out of tune.
Quote by NovaLau
i almost had a threesome..i just needed 2 more people