I've been playing for about 7 months and I'd like to think I've progressed greatly (Able to play Laid To Rest - Lamb of God, Raining Blood - Slayer, Orion - Metallica [full]) and a good understanding of theory. Now, I'm thinking of buying a 7 string to replace my current 6 string and was wondering, how's the transition? Will I be totally lost for awhile? Will it be easy to re-learn the scales and chord formations with a 7 string? Will I be able to play 6 string tabbed songs or will I have to transcribe the notes to fit a 7 string? I really want a 7 string but I dont want to feel like I'm starting guitar all over again. Thanks!
I highly doubt you've mastered a sixer after 7 months. Keep with the 6 for a while, and if you still feel inclined, get a 7 later. You won't have much use for a 7 at only 7 months. You got any vids of your playing?
Gear:
Fender Standard HSS Strat w/ Tone Zone bridge
ESP Ltd EC-1k Black cherry
Carvin DC127 blackburst with Bareknuckle Warpigs
Peavey 6505+
you can play a 6 string song on a seven it just hard not to hit the top strings
Quote by DarkRaven03
I highly doubt you've mastered a sixer after 7 months. Keep with the 6 for a while, and if you still feel inclined, get a 7 later. You won't have much use for a 7 at only 7 months. You got any vids of your playing?

I don't, sorry (too poor after my guitar purchases!) But I assure you that they are played cleanly and without mistake. I haven't masted a 6 either, I doubt anyone could within my time period. I was just wondering if I could continue learning properly with a 7 string that could possibly be applied as well to a 6 string or whatever.
Quote by DarkRaven03
I highly doubt you've mastered a sixer after 7 months. Keep with the 6 for a while, and if you still feel inclined, get a 7 later. You won't have much use for a 7 at only 7 months.

+1
i mean it's just an extra B string at the top. You don't even have to use it.