I just started playing a few weeks ago and am taking lessons. I was taught that for the G cord I should use my pinky on the first string, then ring finger on the 6th string and middle finger on the 5th string.

This was hard for me and my initial reaction was to use my ring finger for the 1st string, middle finger for the 6th string and index finger for the 5th string. For some reason my teacher didn't like this method. I tried it again earlier and now this way is a bit harder for me than the first way I mentioned, (that way isn't much easier though) but I think if I practiced it this way for a bit it would become easier/faster. Which way do you guys do the G chord?

Also, I'm trying not to look at my hands as I do the chord but it's so hard at first. Do you just take occasional peeks or what? I have more of a hard time not looking at my strumming hand (i.e. making sure I only hit the first four strings on an F chord for example)

Thanks for the help!
Pinky on the first string. You could also, after awhile, put your middle on the 6th string and then your ring on the 3rd fret of the B. Hope that helps a little.
I play the G chord like this:

e-3-
B-3-
G-0-
D-0-
A-2-
E-3-

I think it is superior to all other ways, though it is harder than fretting 3 notes (not once you've been playing a while, though).

Any way you play anything will get easier the more you do it.

Looking at your hands: You'll have to at first, but as you get better, your fingers will know where to go.

One more thing, when you name strings by a number, it is as follows:
e 1
B 2
G 3
D 4
A 5
E 6

The highest string is the string highest in pitch.
Quote by bangoodcharlote
I play the G chord like this:

e-3-
B-3-
G-0-
D-0-
A-2-
E-3-

I think it is superior to all other ways, though it is harder than fretting 3 notes (not once you've been playing a while, though).

Any way you play anything will get easier the more you do it.