Ok this is my first time on the forum so I hope I don't mess one of these 'ask for advice' posts. I've spent my first year playing guitar pretty much locked away in my basement saving money until I was ready to start getting into the band scene. My style of choice is Progressive Rock/Metal (Between the Buried and Me's Paul Waggoner has my favourite tone). I currently own an Ibanez s520ex which I love. I have about $10g saved up but I'm looking for advice for the long run. My current amp is not even practice quality and definitely needs replacing. I've spent hours at the local guitar shop fiddling on amps and guitars and I've only come to the conclusion that the Ibanez S Series is for sure my guitar of choice. This summer I also plan on buying an Ibanez S5470 which I'm guessing will run about $2g. I'm really looking for advice on how much to spend on a practice amp and gig amp and suggestions for a Metal tone. Thanks.
The new Ibanez S Prestiges will probably be $1500 max, $2k is the "list" price.

Ibanez S prestige
EMG actives
Mesa Dual Rectifier

There you go, that's literally the BTBAM tone.
From the wiki page....

Ibanez S1625TKS w/ EMG 85/81 (used to record The Silent Circus and Alaska)
Ibanez S520 (in current use) w/ EMG 85/81 (used to record their self-titled and Prayer For Cleansing)
Ibanez S2170FB (used to record "Colors")
Mesa/Boogie Dual Rectifier 2 Channel Head, circa 1994 (used on all albums)
Mesa Standard Recto 4x12
Mesa Road King Series 2. IMO the most versatile tube amp ever made...
Quote by thrilla13w
The hotbar should be floating parallel to the principle axis at this point. Next, take a hammer, and beat yourself in the face while crying JIHAD. problem fixed.

Quote by Slaytanic1993
cowdude speaks words of infinite wisdomery.
i would've suggested a dual rec as well. i'm also a big fan of the peavey jsx.