Poll: How did you learn guitar?
Poll Options
View poll results: How did you learn guitar?
I Self Taught Myself
117 53%
I took Lessons
31 14%
A little bit of both
72 33%
Voters: 220.
Page 1 of 2
Did you learn guitar from lessons, or did you self teach yourself?

Personally, I self taugh myself, i pretty much played by ear. I think I am doing pretty well for being self taught. The only thing close to a lesson is Guitar class at school, which is medioker (sp?) It is pretty much a free period to play guitar, because we are all better than the teacher. It is fun though
Hello
that so cool you guys have guitar class...i wish I had that when I was in highschool (assuming you are in HS).

i am self-taught so far, though I do plan on either getting a teacher or going to take some college classes on musical theory. I figure its the only way ill force myself to REALLY focus on theory, since I do find it pretty important.

teachers are hit or miss in my opinion, if u find a really good one, then u cant beat the advice and help, but most teachers are ****ing terrible.

friend of mine wanted me to go with him to his first lesson to tell him whether the teacher was BS or not...I ended up talking more than the teacher, and kept correcting him. I didnt want to be a douche but the teacher was teaching him the major scale wrong LOL.
Quote by MXBoy11
Did you learn guitar from lessons, or did you self teach yourself?

Personally, I self taugh myself, i pretty much played by ear. I think I am doing pretty well for being self taught. The only thing close to a lesson is Guitar class at school, which is medioker (sp?) It is pretty much a free period to play guitar, because we are all better than the teacher. It is fun though

ha same here. i cantreally learn anything unless im in my own little world. i mostly use guitar pro to teach me songs and i learn from songs to improvise. such as which combination of frets makes differnt part sounds really catchy